20mph Pilot Scheme to include parts of Levenshulme

The Council is introducing a 20 mph speed limit in more areas of the city including the Gorton South Ward which includes parts of Levenshulme. The intention is to reduce accidents and encourage more cycling and walking in residential areas and stop cars using our streets for short cuts.

Gorton South/Levenshulme has selected to pilot the scheme due to the high level of accidents recorded, high density and social deprivation. The areas are:

  • Area 1 – Gorton north and Gorton south;
  • Area 2 – Miles Platting, Newton Heath, Ancoats and Clayton;
  • Area 3 – Hulme (east side or A5103 Princess Road), Moss Side and Fallowfield.

Further information can be found HERE

Leave a Reply